Dukkah recipe

 

 

 

 

During a trip to Capetown a few years ago we had an amazing dinner. As a starter we had small fresh baked flat breads, wonderful fruity local olive oil and a for me unknown spice mixture to dip the bread in. I asked for the name of this mix, went into the kitchen and asked for some details. I left the kitchen with a big smile and a big jar of the mix called dukkah. Since this time I’m addicted to dukkah.

I tried to recreate this mixture, tested lots of recipes and now I have my dukkah. I can eat it all day long. Β Sprinkle my egg in the morning, salads, veggies, fresh bread, lots of possibilities. Even on a holiday trip my dukkah is travelling with me.
A few weeks ago I had my first Insta-Meet up in Munich were we cooked an oriental meal. Of corse i had my dukkah with me. My new friends love this mixture, too, so I decided to make a big batch for all of them this weekend. There was a huge amount of spices to roast, and the smell in my kitchen was so wonderful. Now my dukkah is ready to travel a long way to some cities in Germany, to Sweden, Switzerland and Austria.
Give it a try, you will love it.
This is how I make it:
2 tsp fennel seeds
2 tbsp cumin
4 tbsp sunflower seeds
2 tbsp peppercorns
150 g hazelnuts ( or mix The hazelnuts with 50 g pistacchios)
7 tbsp coriander seeds
5 tbsp sesame
1 tsp nigella
3 tsp sea salt flakes
1 tsp sweet pepper
1 tsp anisseeds
2 tsp hot pepper (depends on you)
2 tsp dry thymian
Dry roast all the seeds, nuts and spices slowly one variety by one, until your kitchen is smelling wonderful.
Please don’t roast everything together.
Rub the nuts in your hands to remove the skins.
Now it’s time for your workout. Crush everything – one variety after the other – with a pestle and mortar.
Mix your spices in a big bowl and enjoy.
4 thoughts on “Dukkah recipe

Leave a Reply

